Friday, April 13, 2012

Daily Lift

Boat S is penalized for breaking rule 14, Avoiding Contact.  Given that she “accidentally” hit P, the presumption is that it was “reasonably possible” for her to have avoided contact with P had she been more careful.  However, S, as a right-of-way boat, cannot be penalized for breaking run 14 unless the contact causes damage or injury to either boat.  In this case, S was damaged and therefore she is penalized for breaking rule 14.  She could have exonerated herself by doing a Two-Turns Penalty, but she failed to do so leaving disqualification as the only penalty available to the protest committee (rule 64.1(a), Penalties and Exoneration)

No comments:

Post a Comment